Managing Users

Users can be easily managed from the User Management screen in the Admin section.  From here you can activate or deactivate users individually or in bulk, search for a user account and manage a user's profile including account details, application wide permissions and assign projects.

To access the User Management screen, navigate to the Admin tab on the tree view navigator and double click on the Users folder to load the User Management screen in the main work area.

 

Key features from the Manage Users screen includes:

  • Add new users
  • Enable or disable users in bulk
  • Preset enabled and disabled users filters 
  • Quick user search

 

Adding Users

You can add users to Enterprise Tester through the Admin section which can be accessed from the Admin tab on the navigator. The number of users you can add to Enterprise Tester depends on your license level.

You can add a user by selecting New on the toolbar on the User Management screen ( shown in the section above) or you can add a user from the navigator:

  1. Select the ‘Admin’ tab in the navigator.

  2. Click to expand to the Users folder.

  3. Right click on the ‘User folder’ and select ‘Add User’ - the Add user screen will display.

Supply the following details:

External User

This will be checked if the user was created by an external system (LDAP or AD).

User name

The logon name for the user.

First Name

Optional

Last Name

Optional

Email 

The email address for the user

Phone

An optional phone number for the user

Password

The logon password (only if the user is not being authenticated by AD or LDAP). The password must be at least 6 characters in length.

Confirm

Repeat the logon password (only if the user is not being authenticated by AD or LDAP)

5. Click on ‘Save’ to create the user.

If users are created through synchronization with LDAP or AD then the External option will be checked and the Password options will be hidden. 

On the Permissions tab you can grant the User Application wide permissions to the following areas:

    • Resources

    • Administration

    • Project

    • Reports

    • Test Management

On the ‘Assign Groups’ tab, you can assign the user to established groups. Note that the user will inherit the application wide permissions of the group.

On the ‘Assign Projects’ tab, you can allocate user to existing projects.

For more information on granting permissions, see the help topic Granting_Permissions

Editing Users

To edit a user:

  1. Select the ‘Admin’ tab in the tree view. 

  2. Click to expand to the ‘Users’ folder.

  3. Right click on the user folder and select View Users - the view users screen will display.

  4. Double click on a user to edit.

 

The Edit User screen will appear and you can now update the details.

Deleting Users

Users can only be deleted in ET if there is no historical activity associated with the user account. This means that a user cannot be deleted if they are referenced in a the history of an entity ( requirement script, run or incident).  To manage user's access to the system, you can use the deactivate/active functionality described below.

To delete a user:

  1. Select the ‘Admin’ tab in the tree view.

  2. Expand to the Users folder.

  3. Right click on the ‘Users’ folder and select View Users - the view users screen will display.

  4. Double click on a user to edit them.

  5. Click ‘Delete’.

  6. Click on ‘Yes’ to the prompt - the user will now be removed.

 

Enabling and Disabling User Accounts

When users no longer require access to ET, you can easily disable user accounts so that the user no longer has access to the application and free up a user seat in your license. Enterprise Tester does not allow users who form part of the historical record of project to be deleted from the system.  It is recommended that you disable users in order to maintain the historical record but remove access to the application and project.

Users are enabled or disabled from the User Management screen in the Admin section. 

To disable one or many users, you can simply select a the users from the grid by checking the row containing the user details and clicking Disable from the toolbar.

Once the user is disabled, you'll notice that tin the Enabled? column on the grid the user will be noted as Disabled.

Similarly, you can enable users by selecting the user or users you wish to reactivate and clicking on Enabled from the toolbar.

You can also easily view only Enabled User or only Disabled Users by selecting one of the pre-configured filters on the toolbar.